Our aims are to provide the means by which our members can:

  • secure their own woodfuel needs, improve their understanding of woodland ecology and work together for collective community benefits.
  • connect local woodlands with local installed wood boilers and wood burners - thereby addressing carbon emissions and fuel poverty.
  • learn woodland craft skills, team working skills and offer woodland training events
  • physically contribute to work sites, co-ordinate volunteers and organise social activities
  • address local fuel poverty and help those in need of wood fuel.

To date we have worked with: The Woodland Trust, The National Trust, Clinton Devon Estates, Somerset Wildlife Trust, The Donkey Sanctuary, Historic England, the Forestry Commission, EDDC Countryside Service, WESC Foundation and private landowners.         

Landowners: We come fully insured, fully trained and operate in virtually the same way as professional contractors…only we work for the wood.

Members: We can provide training and exciting work days for you to take home wood we cut. 

Log Bank:  If you watched us on BBC Countryfile on 17th February we hope you enjoyed our story.  (watch it again HERE: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tjtf38gjyocid8r/Countryf...       If you are in real need of logs to keep warm, them please contact local agencies as we cannot handle calls from individuals.   So far we have had referrals from Citizens Advice, Action East Devon, local food banks, small local charities, churches and concerned individuals.  Please contact them in the first instance. 

Please contact Alan Dyer for more information about our work and membership through the Axewoods e-mail .  Cutting season is October to February/March with processing and other activities during the rest of the year.

Next workdays:(please check the Google calendar* or your e-mail for up-dates - we often have last minute changes because of weather, site access etc.)  10.00a.m. start

Friday 4th October  - WESC Foundation

Wednesday 9th October - Milling day - Knapp Depot

Friday 11th October   - Seminar at Offwell, free all welcome

Saturday 12th October - Core Cope and Old Wolford Farm

Tuesday 15th October - Old Wolford Farm

Wednesday 16th October - Woodhouse 

Saturday 19th October - Newton Poppleford

Tuesday 22nd October - Ashclyst forest

Wednesday 23rd October - FC site TBA

Thursday 24th October - Mamhead

Saturday 2nd November - TBA (FC site)

Tuesday 5th November - Paccombe

Saturday 9th November - TBA 

Tuesday 12th November - TBA

Wednesday 13th November - Woodhouse

Saturday 16th November - Log Bank Day - Knapp Copse

Directions to sites are on the Google calendar - just click on the venue

* Google calendar at: https://calendar.google.com/calendar/embed?src=sq7...